Africa Lusophone Field

  • Angola
  • Cape Verde
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Mozambique
  • São Tomé e Principe

You are invited to join us and learn how God has been faithful to his promises in the countries of Angola, Cape Verde, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique and São Tomé e Principe on the Africa Lusophone Field.

In October 2014, the Africa Lusophone Field expanded to include all of the region's Portuguese-speaking countries. While Spanish is the primary official language in Equatorial Guinea, Portuguese was also approved to be one of the official languages in recent years.

Also in October 2014, Rev. Adérito Ferreira became the Field Strategy Coordinator for the field, upon the retirement of former FSC Dr. Paulos Sueia and his wife, Rute.

Ferreira pastors the Church of the Nazarene in Praia, Cape Verde. Both he and his wife, Paster Ester Ferreira, are ordained elders, committed disciple makers and church planters.

Adérito resigned from a promising career in aviation when he sensed God's call to full-time ministry. He has now served in pastoral ministry for more than 20 years.

Ester initially served as a supportive pastor's wife. After sensing God's call to be a church planter, she studied and worked for ordination while she helped plant churches in Cape Verde. She currently serves as a pastor of one of the recently planted churches.

Their main role on the Africa Lusophone Field is to coordinate church planting and church development and activities, through working with missionaries, districts leaders and other church leaders on the field, in collaboration with the region.


Equip our members to reach the lost and to be sustainable holistically.


173,756 (2014)

Organized churches: 1,101  Preaching points: 1,034

Educational Institutions:

  • SNCV -  Seminário Nazareneo de Cabo Verde, Mindelo, St. Vincente, Cabo Verde
  • SNM – Seminário Nazareneo Moçambique, Maputo, Mozambique
     - IBNAL Instituto Bíblico Nazareno na África Lusófona (Extension System)

Principal extension centres are located in:

  • Luanda
  • Lubango
  • Inhambane
  • Tete – Fingoe
  • Macanga
  • Xai-Xai Inhamissa
  • Xai-Xai Chicumbane
  • Sofala Central
  • Tete Central
  • Macanga
  • Nampula Sul – Moma
  • Nampula East – Muhuve
  • Milange


Danilo & Maria Carvalho, Luanda, Angola
Admirado Chaguala, Mozambique
Mario & Irma Martinez, Guinea-Bissau
Phil & Paula Troutman, Angola

Field Information

Country & Year Entered by the Church of the Nazarene

Cape Verde – 1901
Mozambique - 1922
Angola - 1992
São Tome & Principe - 1997
Equatorial Guinea - 2002
Guinea-Bissau - 2004